Do what you love

I love my job. I really, really love it. I love the freedom and excitment of teaching children with additional needs, I love that I’m allowed to try new things and if it doesn’t work? Hey, chalk it up and move on.

I love that innovation and experimentation are encouraged, I love that every day can be different and the kids can make leaps of progress suddenly and suprisingly.

I love finding way to help the children I teach access the world and experience new things, I  love taking them out on trips, bouncing on the trampoline, swimming in the pool, relaxing in the swing together. I love building a relationship in a way I couldn’t in a mainstream class.

 

The thing is, if I didn’t love it I couldn’t do it. It’s this love that keep me going back when children regress, when they go through tough times, when they pull out an NG tube in the middle of a session or bite or hit or just close down. When they pass away too young with all that poential gone. When you have to fight and battle for what they need, when you’re out and about and people stare or comment and you just want to shout they’re just people like you and me!

 

Every teacher is different and every teacher has a passion, if you’re passion is teaching children with additional needs then don’t fight it, if your hearts not in it then go and find what you love! I don’t want to teach academic high fliers in a secondary school, but maybe you do, maybe you want to teach in a PRU or a boarding school or Eaton or an inner city school or a prison or well anything else! Do it, go and find your niche before it’s too late!

Molly Hahn- Buddha doodle
Molly Hahn- Buddha doodle
One thought on “Do what you love

Leave a Reply

